How this site compares with Propbar, Crystal Roof and Locrating
Four services a buyer meets in the first week of a search, on the same table. Every cell below comes from the other company's own public pages as they read on 9 September 2026. "Not listed" means their pages did not describe it that day, not that they lack it. If something has changed, tell us and it will be corrected.
What each shows, and what each costs
| UKPropertyInsight | Propbar | Crystal Roof | Locrating | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £9.99 a month or £24.99 a quarter. One full Premium report free on sign-up; 26 of 44 checks free on every address, no account needed | £49.99 a month; £104.97 for three months; £149.94 for six months. Searching and the verdict of each check free; detail paid | Free. "Our service is 100% free for all our visitors" | Free basic plan. Premium £12.99 a month recurring (first month £14.99), £14.99 for a single month, or £41.99 for three months as one payment, including VAT |
| What it is | One report per address: 44 checks from official sources, each figure naming where it came from | One record per address: "47 risk checks" from "14 official data sources", sold prices since 1995, an independent valuation | Area statistics for a postcode in ten categories: crime, demographics, affluence, schools, transport, amenities, environment, noise, an overview and reviews | A school finder and catchment checker first; neighbourhood information around it |
| Sold prices and valuation | Every recorded sale at the postcode; a valuation and price per square metre on Premium | Every sale since 1995, comparables within 250 m, a valuation with a confidence range, on the paid plan | An instant valuation, listed as new | Property prices in the neighbourhood information |
| Schools | The council's published admission distance for 3,627 schools, a postcode checker, a map with the distance drawn, Ofsted, results, a grammar school layer | Ofsted, performance and "catchment context" | Ofsted ratings, admission policies, exam results | Where existing pupils live, last distance offered, priority areas, feeder and destination schools, since 2010 |
| Flood and ground | Environment Agency flood zone and live warnings, subsidence, radon, coal mining, and whether Flood Re insurance can apply | River, surface and coastal flood scoring, subsidence, radon and contaminated-land flags | Flood risk within environment | Flood risk within neighbourhood information |
| Planning applications nearby | Not offered. No reliable national source exists yet, and this site does not model what it cannot source | Yes: applications and decisions around the property | Not listed | Not listed |
| Buses at the door | Scheduled buses an hour at each stop within 500 m, from the Department for Transport's timetable feed | Not listed | Distance to stations and public transport connectivity | Not listed |
| GP practices and A&E | Patients per fully qualified GP at the nearest practices, and the nearest A&E's four-hour figure, from NHS England | Not listed | GP surgeries listed among amenities | Not listed |
| The council's finances | Six years of Band D council tax, exceptional financial support and section 114 notices, and every band for all 350 billing authorities | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| How the area has changed | The neighbourhood on the 2011 and 2021 censuses side by side, against England | Census demographics | Demographics and affluence | Socio-economics |
| A report to keep | A PDF of the full report, on Premium | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Browser extension | Free, on the Chrome Web Store: the verdict on any listing as you browse | Free: sold prices, days on market and floor areas on listings | Not listed | Yes, for Rightmove, Zoopla and OnTheMarket |
| An AI assistant | Not offered | Yes: "Ask, an AI researcher" | Not listed | Not listed |
| Coverage | Depends on the source: Land Registry and EPC data cover England and Wales, Police.uk covers England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and a report says where an address is not covered | Every property in England and Wales with Land Registry data; Scotland partial; Northern Ireland not yet | "2.6M postcodes" | UK schools |
| Sources named on the page | Every figure, with a methodology page and an accuracy log | Says every figure in a report names its source | Not stated on its home page | Not stated on its home page |
Read from propbar.co.uk, crystalroof.co.uk and locrating.com on 9 September 2026. The names belong to their owners; this site is not connected to any of them.
What each does better than this site
- Propbar shows planning applications and decisions around a property, offers an AI researcher over the record, and its free extension adds days on market and floor areas to listings. It also lists three more checks than this site does.
- Crystal Roof charges nothing at all, and its statistics for a postcode give noise sources and air pollution their own categories, with traffic, aircraft, emergency services and nightlife listed separately.
- Locrating has published school data since 2010 and shows where a school's existing pupils live, its feeder and destination schools and its priority areas, which this site does not hold. Its members rate it on the site itself.
What only this site showed on 9 September 2026
None of the three described these on their public pages that day. Each names its source on the report.
- Scheduled buses an hour at each stop within 500 m of the address, weekday, evening and Sunday, from the Department for Transport's Bus Open Data Service.
- Patients per fully qualified GP at the nearest practices and the nearest A&E's four-hour figure, from NHS England.
- Six years of the council's Band D bill, exceptional financial support and section 114 notices, from MHCLG.
- Whether Flood Re, the flood insurance scheme, can apply to the home, from the scheme's own rules.
- The neighbourhood on the 2011 and 2021 censuses side by side, from the Office for National Statistics.
Common questions
Is there a free alternative to Propbar?
Crystal Roof is free for area statistics by postcode. UKPropertyInsight shows 26 of its 44 checks free on any address, gives every new account one full Premium report free, and charges £9.99 a month or £24.99 a quarter after that. Propbar's search is free and its detail is paid, on plans from £24.99 a month on a six-month term to £49.99 month by month, as its pricing page read on 9 September 2026.
What does Propbar cost?
£49.99 a month, £104.97 for three months (£34.99 a month) or £149.94 for six months (£24.99 a month), as its pricing page read on 9 September 2026. Searching, property facts, EPC data, demographics and the verdict of each risk check are free there; sale prices, comparables, the valuation and the full risk detail are on the paid plan.
Is Crystal Roof free?
Yes. Its home page says its service is 100% free for all visitors. It describes area statistics for a postcode across ten categories, plus an instant valuation, as read on 9 September 2026.
What does Locrating do that UKPropertyInsight does not?
Locrating shows where a school's existing pupils live, its feeder and destination schools and its priority areas, and has published school data since 2010. This site shows the council's published admission distance for 3,627 schools, with a postcode checker and a map, and does not hold those three things.
Which one should I use?
For area statistics at no cost, Crystal Roof. For school choice above everything else, Locrating. For planning applications nearby and an AI assistant, Propbar. For every official check on one address on one page, each figure naming its source, this site, at £9.99 a month the lowest monthly price of the three paid services on that day.
See it on an address you know
The free report shows 26 checks on any UK address with no account. Run one now, or read what Premium adds.